Why a Woman Without Tattoos Intrigues Me

An unpopular opinion about tattoos

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

“You wouldn’t put a bumper sticker on a Ferrari.”

I’m sure we’ve all heard that phrase at one point or another. It’s probably the oldest saying in the book about the topic of tattoos.

Typically, a person that believes tattoos are trashy or a bad decision may make the argument: “you wouldn’t put a bumper sticker on a Ferrari”.

Don’t get me wrong if you have tattoos, I do not think you’ve ruined your body.

As a matter of fact, my husband has a fairly large tattoo on his ribcage. My brother-in-law has a few tattoos, one of which is a kettlebell with the chemical compound for happiness, which is very creative and beautifully done. And most of my friends have multiple tattoos, including intricate and colorful sleeves.

I appreciate the artistry of tattoos, and I always enjoy hearing the stories and meanings behind each one.

It’s just not something I have ever wanted, nor will ever want, for myself.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

--

--

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

Bachelor of Science in Nutrition. Lover of all things travel, food, health, and fitness related. Let’s build wellness rather than treating disease.