Why Americans Are Moving To France

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 5, 2023

--

Photo by Andri Wyss on Unsplash

I’ve lived in France for a few years and have decided to stay as long as possible. Since I’ve been living like a real Parisian, I’ve benefited from the French culture and system, which can make life much less stressful and more peaceful than in the U.S. In this article, I’ll explain why you should move to France!

Photo by Online Marketing on Unsplash

Free Health Care and affordable consultations

When I arrived in France, I got the carte vitale. It’s an identity card for health insurance and is useful for French people and foreigners! It allows me to track my medical data, such as vaccination dates for COVID, and most importantly, it allows me to be reimbursed for almost any medical consultation.

When I was in the U.S., I often tried to convince myself I could get through the day without going to the doctor because I didn’t want to stress about the bill and the expensive medication. The first time I felt sick in France, my boyfriend (now husband) forced me to see a doctor. He reassured me that the consultation was “practically free” and the medication was “affordable.” I was convinced he was telling a terrible lie. In what world is a medical consultation “practically free”…

--

--

Jolie Porter
ILLUMINATION

American girl living in France. I love meeting new people and discovering different cultures. If we are brave enough to live boldly, life can be an adventure!