Why aren’t you making your own yogurt?

It’s easier (and greener) than you think

Elise Wanger Zell
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Karly Gomez on Unsplash

During the pandemic, some of us obsessed over sourdough. Others religiously followed Youtube fitness gurus, constructed birdhouses, sewed crafty-looking face masks, or discovered the lost arts of shoe cobbling and basket weaving.

As for me, I chose trash.

Each night of the lockdown, I channeled all my COVID anxieties into rummaging through our recycling and waste bins to figure out what were we throwing away, how often, and why.

We had a decent starting point, since we already used washable mesh bags for produce, bought in bulk whenever possible (nuts, beans, etc.), and carried our own to-go containers for snacks, drinks, and lunches. After reading Michael Moss’ Sugar, Fat, Salt, I also stopped purchasing packaged foods. (This last change also brought the unexpected bonus of fattening my wallet and narrowing my waistline).

Yet one packaged product continued to plague my plastic bin: yogurt.

After all, I love yogurt. It’s the perfect food, the stuff of gods. I wouldn’t be remotely surprised if the Ancient Greeks had some deranged myth about an angel masturbating off Mount Olympus and some mortal collecting the tart perfection from below. (Besides, with all the incest, cannibalism, and…

--

--

Elise Wanger Zell
ILLUMINATION

If it involves words, count me in. Currently living in Bologna, Italy. www.elisezell.com