Why Do I Choose To Say “Merry Christmas” Instead of “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings” or “Bah Humbug” à la the Grinch?

It isn’t a war on Christmas, it’s a war on exclusivity and inclusivity

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames
ILLUMINATION

--

Two stained glass images of the nativity scene
In the Christian tradition, a nativity scene is the special exhibition, particularly during the Christmas season, of art objects representing the birth of Jesus. The term “nativity scene” has a more specialized sense referring to seasonal displays, in particular sets of individual sculptural figures and props that are arranged for display. Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Amid all the songs about Santa, Rudolph the red- nosed reindeer, and talking snowmen there’s a question we need to ask ourselves.

No, it’s not if we were naughty or nice? And, despite what Bob Geldof and company would have you believe it’s not, do they know it’s Christmas? The real question is, do we say “Happy Holidays,” “Season’s Greetings,” or “Merry Christmas”?

I did a little preemptive Christmas shopping and walked into a big-box store that was all decked out for Christmas with Christmas tree displays and a staff that was all dressed as elves. When I entered the store I was greeted with, “Happy Holidays.” I stopped dead in my tracks. What did that elf say to me?

Who was this elf that dared to wish me a neutral, bland, non-religious “Happy Holidays”?

The disgruntled elf may have been a retail worker who had become hypersensitive to the excessive holiday season and to avoid offending someone he caved. This is common during the Christmas season. I should know as I worked in retail and the hospitality industry for at…

--

--

A Grain of Salt | ElbyJames
ILLUMINATION

ElbyJames is an American disabled combat vet exiled in the UK & a free speech absolutist. He’s an occasional Top Writer