Why Do We Write? Who Do We Write For?

“Stories have to be told or they die, and when they die, we can’t remember who we are or why we’re here.” — Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees

Arpad Nagy
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMay 18, 2021

--

Photo by Charl Folscher on Unsplash

This prompt appeared first thing this morning on a Facebook writing group, to which I am pleased to belong. Our group. “The Vocal Creators Lounge” is a tremendous group of talented writers, poets, lyricists, humorists, and content creators. It’s a phenomenal group because we are consistently, highly engaged, genuinely supportive, and deeply appreciative of each other’s contributions. I only started writing in March of this year and joined the group shortly thereafter, but I pretty much feel like we have a family. You will find if you choose to supportively investigate the wide variety of topics, writers of every caliber. New, green, good, bad, poor, experienced, excellent, professionals, traditionally published authors, and content kings and queens. The common thread is we all love to write. We all want to write. Most of us need to write.

“I can do all things through prayer and coffee.”

So when I read this question even before I had half of my first coffee, I was pondering the personal answer I could give. The second question: Who do we write for? That’s…

--

--

Arpad Nagy
ILLUMINATION

A Proud Hungarian-Canadian, throwback romantic who loves to write. Editor @ Kitchen Tales,The Short Place (Fiction) The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, The Book Cafe