Why Do You Lie About Having Learned to Read When You Were 3 Years Old?

Over 75% of people claim they read before first grade, but according to teachers, that’s exceedingly rare.

Melissa Balick
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Stephen Andrews on Unsplash

I’ve been a professional babysitter since 2013, and during that time, I’ve looked after at least 500 children between age 2 and 6.

Do you know how many of them could read?

One. And she was 5 when she learned.

I’ve babysat kids primarily in California — especially the San Francisco Bay Area. The parents of the kids I’ve cared for have overwhelmingly been highly educated, well-off, and had access to all available educational resources.

Even so, their kids learn to read when they’re 6 or 7, in first grade.

Yet, I encounter adults claiming they learned to read when they were 3 all the freaking time.

Either they’re lying, or their parents lied to them.

Look, many kids show signs of being extremely bright early on. I’ve seen 16-month-olds almost recite the alphabet. I had a brilliant 3-year-old boy who could rattle off every single line of The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, in order. He had the whole thing down pat (except, as this video exposes, that he strongly believed the book…

--

--

Melissa Balick
ILLUMINATION

Fiction writer with a couple stories published in literary magazines, nanny, reader of way too many books.