Why Everyone Should Want Amnesia

Or how memory loss is the key to a happy life.

Bernie E. Robert
ILLUMINATION

--

Image source: Unsplash

It happens once every three or so years. I wake up in my spaceship, and discover I’ve forgotten some essential skill, like how to brush my teeth, or how water tastes like. One time, I forgot what I looked like, and was astonished when I passed by a mirror a few weeks later.

Surprisingly, I enjoy it.

I’m sure it happens much more often than that. A key I placed somewhere, my email account password. The last name of a close friend. And it’s not really amnesia—just a very picky memory that doesn’t like the same stuff I do.

I think the world will be happier if people forgot stuff more often.

You see, the kind Universe knows what a pain it is to remember every excruciating detail of our lives. It erases some vendettas, for the sake of the human population. It disposes of our scheduled appointments, our grand plans, because it knows we will be happier without them, despite what our bosses and relatives think.

You can’t be hurt by what you can’t remember.

Why do we forget?

At first, a bad memory sounds like a bad idea. If nature could give us perfect memories, why didn’t she?

--

--

Bernie E. Robert
ILLUMINATION

Science and technology nerd; lucid dreamer and philosopher. I have alien friends, too. @berniethewriter on Twitter.