Why I Actively Choose to Get Lost

Tavian Jean-Pierre
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readMar 11, 2021

--

Photo by Paulius Dragunas on Unsplash

It was not too long ago when I had a counseling session with a professional at work. There was much worry coming from my loved ones about the time I worked. I have to admit, from the outside looking in, it looks bad. I spend about 14 hours a day working. That is actually a slight decrease from what it was before.

Anyway, I enjoy what I do. And no, I am not talking about my day job. It is writing, of course. I spend a lot of time working on my craft and broadening my knowledge to help others through my writing. But it takes a lot of energy and time, as some of you are aware.

So for my workaholic nature, they rushed me to the counseling room to get advice on what needs to change in my life. Most of it was pointless. Only a few of the things suggested helped my “workaholism”. But I took on board one bit of advice. And that was to have a walk every day.

Walking is a healthy exercise to do. It does not take too much effort, plus it helps us get out. With much of our time spent inside now, it makes sense to get out for a short time. The counselor suggested walks would help my ability to remain present. Which, to her defense is true. I am always thinking of the next thing to write or the future projects I have lined up.

So, taking a walk pulls me away from my desk and forces me to remain present at the moment…

--

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre
ILLUMINATION

Founder of the Better Conversations Podcast | Inspiring a better future | Thought leadership in the topics of innovation, economics, and entrepreneurship