Why I Couldn’t Land a Remote Job

Scams to avoid while working from home

Amelia Prochnow
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Tons of people across the globe are staying home now due to the impact of the virus, so the chances of finding a job right now are even more scarce. I found the idea of working from home such a fanciful idea even way before the world turned to shambles.

I thought it would be so fun to work at a coffee shop or even in the park on a chilly summer morning, but sadly I never got to live out my dream.

I probably applied to over 200 jobs on Indeed alone thinking that I would be able to land at least one. I applied to jobs on the other side of the country and jobs just a few miles from my home, but still, I received no luck. I was met with the message, “Unfortunately we have decided to not move to the next step with your application. Better luck next time.”Sometimes I would be lucky to even hear back from a company at all.

During my time of scrolling my mouse through every website known to man and following everyone’s advice on how to land a job, I wasn’t getting any recognition or the respect I thought I deserved. Soon I knew that there was no chance for me on the online world, and that thought made me incredibly sad.

My dreams were crushed. It was time to go back to applying for high school level jobs again.

I thought I had such a credible resume and my applications answered all of their questions. What was I doing wrong?

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Well, then one day everything changed. I started receiving emails from a bunch of random “companies” and phone calls as well. I didn’t even remember what jobs I had applied to, so I thought all of the emails were legit. I took the time to research the companies and people who were contacting me on LinkedIn. Sometimes the people and places would show up and sometimes they would not, so I grew just a little concerned. I knew it was all probably a scam but I had my hopes high that something real would come out of this… but boy was I wrong.

After many days of discovering what fraudulent companies posted on Indeed, I decided to forgo my search and just be happy with what I had accomplished on my own. I did gain something from this whole experience though: knowledge on avoiding fake people.

I wanted to spread the wealth and help out anyone else who is in the same boat I was. I have listed a few tips and tricks that may help you out below.

Tips to avoiding a scam

  1. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
  2. You don’t speak with or work with a real person. Whenever you do receive a call from a person, the person sounds like they’re from a different country.
  3. You never actually have a real interview. If you ever receive an email stating that you have been given the job or you think you have without an interview, it’s a given that it’s a scam artist on the other side of your computer.
  4. Their “business email” is a personal email address. Always check to see who the sender is. If their name is attached to anything other than a business email, don’t reply.
  5. When performing a Google search, there is no real information available. All reputable companies will have some type of reviews and information splashed all over Google.

Bottom line: always do your research.

The article elaborates more on my tips of avoiding scams and how to land a WFH job.

If you are currently on the search from a real WFH job, I would love to hear how your personal experience relates to mine. Also if you do receive a legit offer, I’d love to know how!

Stay safe out there, my friends.

--

--

Amelia Prochnow
ILLUMINATION

A college student looking to impact the world and your reading lists.