Why I Quit My Paid Medium Membership

The recent Medium changes made it too difficult to find quality content

Adeetee Bhide
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Alex Quezada on Unsplash

I have been trying to kick the habit of mindlessly scrolling through content on my phone. I deleted most social media apps, but I kept Medium. I loved its old home page, where I could find a few, high-quality articles about topics I was interested in. All of the articles were curated (thus guaranteeing that the articles would be well-argued and thought-provoking) and were about topics I followed.

I found that the content of the articles varied greatly from day to day, and although they were not typically about topics I would search for (for example, this excellent article about bathroom scales), I was always pleasantly surprised. I kept Medium on my phone, and paid for a membership, because I was not mindlessly scrolling. Rather, I was learning something new with each article I read.

Then, came the changes to the home page. Now, Medium focuses less on showing you articles selected by editors, and more on articles published by authors and publications you follow.

However, I was left wondering if these changes are truly because Medium wants to “help writers find and grow their audience” or because Medium wants writers to market their own work — because Medium editors cannot keep up with…

--

--

Adeetee Bhide
ILLUMINATION

I’m currently living out my childhood dream of being an author on Medium. I write about whatever catches my fancy…mainly politics, social justice, and TV shows.