Why I Rewrite The Title of My Articles At Least 10 Times and How It Works For Me

3 helpful tips for writing article titles.

Yana Bostongirl
ILLUMINATION

--

Anastasia Gepp from Pixabay

I admit I don’t make use of any resources to produce an SEO perfect headline that may or may not trigger an ‘article clicking’ frenzy. I do mine the old-fashioned way — by going with my instinct. And I’m happy to say that it works for me with regards to views and helping me qualify for the Medium bonus.

This doesn’t mean my articles have achieved viral status yet but hey I’m not complaining.

Even though I have been writing for about 5 months on this platform, my MO for the first 3 months used to be spending less time pondering what to put for a title and more time on finessing the body of my article. Truth be told, I can see a marked difference with regards to views and chosen for further distribution after I started paying more attention to my titles.

Let me give an example with my article published in Hello Love titled “My Friend Was The Trophy Boyfriend Of A Narcissist.” The initial working title I put in for this article was quite basic “ The 3 Stages of Narc Abuse”. I wasn’t happy with it so I tried a few others:

“6 Signs You Are With A Narc”

--

--

Yana Bostongirl
ILLUMINATION

Owner of Good Vibes Club & The Heritage Pub| I'm a blend of cultures from South Africa, India & USA| Masters in Econ|🦋https://yanabostongirl.substack.com/