Why I Stopped Writing: The Reason Behind a Burnout

It all started when I tagged my creativity with a “$” sign.

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

--

It has been a while since I last touched a keyboard. It still does that old cracking sound. Crack, crack, crack. I didn’t realize until now how much I missed it, but first, let me tell you what made me run away from it.

There is this thing I call hustle writing, I don’t know if I just made that up right now or something? Laughs.

Basically, I was writing to make money. I wrote every single article with money in mind, heck, I even wrote about money. Long story short, I fell into the trap that many new writers fall into: You have to write 1–2 articles a day, over 60 articles a month to get the ball running.

So guess what happened, I burned out.

I started writing trash. Sometimes I would add a little garbage juice to give it a little kick. I was writing just to write; I had no voice, character, or desire to include the reader as I wrote. It felt like a 9–5 job: rush it, bro; the boss wants the paper in by two O’clock (New York accent).

In fact, I have seen this happening to some big writers on this platform.

How I Changed My Situation

--

--

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

If you cannot find me, I am probably writing. Usually, I write about fiction, love, and self-improvement. Oh, love!