Why I unfollowed Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson on Instagram

Richard White
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readOct 16, 2022

--

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

Everyone loves Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, right?

Right?

I thought so. Hell, I still (mostly) love him, too.

Until recently, I was one of his 341million Instagram followers.

That changed during my Digital Declutter, during which time one of my actions was to go through the list of people I follow on Instagram and consciously decide who should go and who should stay.

As I got to Dwayne’s profile, I paused.

Could I really unfollow The Rock? It’s The Rock!

He has almost as many followers as America has citizens, who am I to buck the trend?

But, at the same time, I was aware that I’d often feel worse after seeing his posts in my feed.

Actually to be blunt, I could feel pretty damn flat.

With that big grin, infectious laugh, and by all accounts great personality, how could I not feel perked up by his posts?

--

--

Richard White
ILLUMINATION

Writer, marketer, thinker. Strong opinions loosely held. Writing about life, work, tech (mainly Apple), fitness, and other things. Newsletter: shorturl.at/atZ06