Why I Want To Get Married

Mila
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readApr 2, 2023

--

People That Don’t Want To Get Married Don’t Want The Responsibility

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Marriage is not for everyone. Today, plenty of people choose to have long-term partnerships and never tie the knot. Others choose to live happily single with a strong group of friends and family members around them. Some just marry their pets.

Marriage is a deeply personal decision and a desire for this type of partnership will vary from person to person based on personality and lifestyle aspirations. Besides, what makes someone want to get married?

My partner proposed just a few months into our relationship. We met when I was at my worst and he was with me through my lowest points. He never gave up. As I lacked self-confidence and self-love I used to ask him a very annoying to him question: “Why do you love me?” He answered: “Do I have to have a reason? I love you, and I can’t help it. Anyway, one day when you love yourself you will understand why I love you.”

It quite shocked a few of my friends and acquaintances when they learned I am ready to tie the knot with the man I have been in a relationship with for seven months. However, time doesn’t matter. When you know you know. My father who has become best friends with my future husband still doesn’t believe we have been together this short, when we told him we were celebrating our seven months together…

--

--

Mila
ILLUMINATION

Writer, Screenwriter, Role Model and just ultra-cool babe. I’m fearless. I’m a writer. I don’t quit. I use my imagination to inspire others! I know who I am!