Why I Will Not Be Attending My High School Reunion

Has social media killed curiosity?

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

This morning I logged onto Facebook, and the first thing I saw was this status update written by someone I graduated high school with:

“Hi, class of 2012 friends! Who will be in charge of our high school reunion? I want to make sure it happens. I’m feeling nostalgic today.”

That post received forty-one likes and sixty-seven comments.

First of all, has it already been nearly ten years since I graduated from high school? Second, does anyone even go to those things?

My reason for why I don’t want to attend my high school reunion is quite simple:

Although I did genuinely enjoy my time in high school, there is no reason to pretend that those four years of my life were any more important than they were.

Thankfully, I wasn’t cruelly made fun of, except for the one time during my senior year when two girls made fun of me for having the body of a twelve-year-old boy. I know that they most likely made that comment out of jealousy or insecurity. I was very aware of how petite I was, but I certainly didn’t think that I looked like a little boy. It’s funny though how that comment has stuck with me all these years later.

--

--

Kiki Joy
ILLUMINATION

Bachelor of Science in Nutrition. Lover of all things travel, food, health, and fitness related. Let’s build wellness rather than treating disease.