Why I Won’t Stop Writing

And can’t

Shental Rohan
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

I was tagged by the wise Henery X (long) a few days ago as part of a challenge to write about what writing represents to me, and after reading his inspirational piece discussing how writing is his purpose (highly recommend reading!), I decided to reflect on my own writing experience and think about why I love it so much. It’s so important to consider why we do the things we do, and this reflection of my work has helped me understand that concept better.

As I searched the depths of my mind looking for the real reason behind why I write and the core of my passion, it struck me how different of a person I would be if I hadn’t started writing. Although I write with the aim of helping at least one other person, I also write to help myself. I learn a lot more and adopt a more reflective persona which helps me critically analyse areas for improvement in not just an average person’s life but also my own specifically.

As I write about something, different scenarios from my life come to mind and I think about how that could have been improved. I tend to include personal growth and self-awareness elements in most of my pieces and this ideal helps me strive to practice and reach the stages I describe in my pieces. There has been a big change in my thoughts and in my mindset which can be owed to the things I write about that help me educate myself too.

Over the period in lockdown, which thankfully Malaysia has now emerged from, I probably wrote more pieces than I did in the months prior to the pandemic, with the only writing I did being for school. Now that I am able to freely spend time writing about the things I am passionate about, I am truly able to express myself through my pieces and come to terms with my identity and who I really am on a higher level.

And that’s that. I don’t know if it would be presumptuous to say that writing has made me a better person and that’s why I’ll always do it. I also realise that sounds very vague- what is “better” after all- but I hope you believe that is the truth. This is a genuine passion and I am definitely going to continue my writing journey for the rest of my life, and hopefully, get paid for it sometime in the future- I can’t be part of the Medium Paywall from Malaysia unfortunately, but oh well!

Thanks for reading and I would love to hear what writing means to you. I’ve tagged some people below and hopefully, I’ll be tagged back to read their wonderful pieces! Happy writing!

Michael Q Todd Desiree Driesenaar Dr Mehmet Yildiz René Junge Joel Mwakasege Christian Reber Sarah Louise Capper David Horgan Arthur G. Hernandez Timothy Key Keno Ogbo Ken Rutkowski Alison Schaffir Alison Tennent Kathryn A. LeRoy, Ph.D. Kassandra Giroux Kathy Rees Angel Joy Joe Luca Saloni Joshi Michelle Mangen Michael Moore Tim O'Reilly Lauren Modery Mandy Walker Walter Rhein Noah Levy Jean Carfantan Kevin Rose Emily Gould Francine Fallara Felipe Sanchez

--

--