Why I write — My introduction to ILLUMINATION

Salvatore Cagliari
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readMay 18, 2020

--

I was born in December 1970 in Basel, Switzerland.

Myself at around 12 years

I lived there until I was seven years old. Then we moved outside Basel in a village with around 2500 inhabitants.

My childhood was unspectacular.
My parents pampered me, which caused some issues in my life. More on this, in a moment.

My parents are from Italy (Sicily to be precise) and they considered a boy to be better than a girl. They treated me differently to my five years older sister. But we had an excellent relationship.
When I was sixteen years old, my sister fled from home to go to live with her boyfriend and future husband in Italy. This event was a major blow to me, as I had an excellent relationship with my sister since I was a little boy. I was furious at her because she didn’t tell me anything about her plans.

It needed a long time to repair our relation to what it is now.
I must give her big kudos to never blamed for my issues, as she was aware of the different treatments my parents gave to us.

In the meantime, I fully understand why she acted like that, and it was a struggle to keep the relation to my parent intact as I learned about their share of responsibility.

--

--

Salvatore Cagliari
ILLUMINATION

Nerd passionate about technology, and space science and interested in many other things. On the Business side, an expert in Data Analytics and Power BI.