Why Initiate Conversations?

Breaking the silence

Sebastian D'Souza
ILLUMINATION
2 min read1 day ago

--

Photo by Jarritos Mexican Soda on Unsplash

I’ve always appreciated silence. It gives me a chance to think. But silence is not always a good thing, especially around quiet types.

My kids tend to be quiet. My wife and I were shy as kids, so that may have something to do with it. Now that I’m older, I prefer being around people who like to talk, but there is a limit. I avoid anyone who talks too much.

So why break the silence? Silence creates distance. Before you know it, you are on unfriendly terms. What happened? The love grew cold. Conversation is a way to keep the relationship warm and welcoming.

The trick is to talk even though the person is not expecting or looking for it. It may take time for them to thaw out of that icy silence. What I’m learning to do is to talk even when there is nothing to talk about.

I initiate conversations with their favorite word in the whole world: their name. I’m not an expert conversationalist, but I do know people like to hear their names spoken by others. Then, I share one of my recent encounters or discoveries; even though they may not care, I pretend like they will. I aim to break the silence, leading to some discussion. Even if it doesn’t, the door is open. The ice is broken.

More and more, we are absent when we are around people. We are engaged with our phones and our agenda. Relationships are dying on the vine. Not enough conversation is taking place. It’s time to do something before it’s too late. I encourage you to break the silence with someone today.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Sebastian D'Souza
ILLUMINATION

Writing is a form of therapy. I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. I enjoy the pursuit of a balanced life.