Why Introverts Are The Most Difficult People to Manipulate

Introversion often comes with immunity to con artists and social pressure

Gabrielė Bužinskaitė
ILLUMINATION

--

Martín Copertari, source

You don’t look shy.

That’s the most common response I hear when I tell people I am an introvert. They think I just confessed to being shy, awkward, and even naïve. I used to feel irritated by such associations, but now I use them to my advantage.

In truth, most timid people are extroverts whose insecurities and fear of rejection imprison them in a shy shell. They are nervous because they want to be accepted and embraced — they want it too much, so things get awkward. With time, many grow out of shyness. However, introversion is innate. Un-grow-out-able.

When using the word introvert, I mean a person who enjoys solitary activities and calm environments, preferring to interact with individuals or in small groups¹. Most accurately, introverts are the people who emotionally recharge by spending time with themselves instead of others.

Once I stopped fighting it, introversion gave me personal strengths I never thought possible. The strongest one is my immunity to social pressure. Then, analyzing myself and other introverts, I realized that we rarely fall prey to manipulation.

--

--

Gabrielė Bužinskaitė
ILLUMINATION

Copywriter. Book Reviewer. I love writing about three things: literature, economics, and self-growth.