Why Is Motivation A Big Struggle?

Haroon Qureshi
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2023

Lost, undriven, and hopeless… Is there a way back?
Can we find Motivation and never lose it again?

Swimming against the current — A depiction of Motivation by the author

“I cannot do it!”

“I just don’t feel like it.”

Why?

“Because I lack the motivation.”

Yes, we say this often, either to ourselves or any other. We lack motivation. But is it actual motivation we lack, or something else?

A surge of purpose is what we look for, a voice saying: “I need to do this no matter what!” all to understand the crucial reasons behind our actions. To know why we have to do this, why we should. Surprisingly, “what” isn’t even a question in our minds.

Why should I put all my energy into this one thing? Why is it worth everything? Why can’t I live without completing it by my hands alone?

“You do it because you love to,” Motivation answers with a smile.

“It makes you happy.”

“It’s good for your mind, body, and soul.”

“Cause you have to earn and live a better life.”

“Very good!” we reply, all jolly and excited to begin. Nothing can stop us now.

Yet… even this proves insufficient. The motivation flushes out quickly as it floods in, leaving us direly empty inside. In a flash, we are lost in purpose, lost in faith again. I ask you, then, Why wasn’t it all enough? What happened? Where did all the sparks go?

Did we lack motivation, or was it something else?

Action.

I present you the answer; Action, we lack.

Why is it when one forcefully goes for a stroll after long, they think, “That was awfully nice. I should do that again sometime!” or when one meets an old friend, they say, “We should meet more often!” When we unwillingly pick up a book, brush off its months-old dust to read, or grab tainted brushes to paint, why do we tend to feel more driven after it?

Because we forget.

We forget how actions themselves can propel thought can propel motivation. Actions can always offer us the Why’s when we struggle to find them. Not motivated enough to write? Write. Not wanting to go for a morning jog? Strap your shoes and find out your Why. Just do it! Simply waiting for motivation can waste valuable time, time that can be well used performing a thing you have long waited to do.

Now, that first step can feel daunting, like swimming in an unforgiving ocean, pushed hard against the current. Walls of waves pummel us back. But power through, and we may find how this current steadily re-aligns with our progress. The first stroke, our grudging movement, is the key, and those Whys will follow.

With another stroke, water splashes and winds begin to aid. A new thwack, and then we glide into the ocean. The current shifts, on the crest of a wave now, rocketing through like a boat. The fishes swim with us, screaming, “You never lacked motivation, rather actions!”

And we finally understand. Actions drive motivation, not the other way around. This is how we will never again struggle with it, how we will achieve individual greatness, the impossible, a surge of happiness and purpose.

Actions, we repeat.

Actions.

Swimming against the current — A depiction of Motivation by the author

Thank you so much for reading!

I hope this unique post instils grave thought in my readers and makes one realize the life-altering philosophies that seldom hide under the mundane-est of things in our daily lives.

I wish you all to stay safe and have a great life ahead. Please leave your claps and thoughts in the comments below. I would really appreciate it!

Since I am not eligible for Partner Program, I cannot make money directly through this platform even after well-crossing 100 followers. If you wish to support me, please visit my Ko-fi page and buy me a coffee :)

https://ko-fi.com/haroon_qureshi

For knowing the full details of why I am still not eligible, please read the below post:

You may also like:

See you in the next post!

--

--

Haroon Qureshi
ILLUMINATION

Aspiring author // I write articles on emotions, mental well-being, philosophies, and life in general. Also, I love writing thought-provoking short stories!