Why is Rudyard Kipling’s ‘If’ my favorite poem?

Day #21: 100 Happy Days

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

--

Image designed using Canva

Some days you question co-incidences to see if they are really coincidences or there is a deeper message that is surfacing and wanting to be seen by you. On ‘happy day #21’, I am writing about one such co-incidence.

People who know me and have spent enough time with me know that I absolutely LOVE the poem ‘If’ by Rudyard Kipling. Handwriting and sharing it with someone is one of my favorite gifting options, or writing it in some blog posts, or sharing it in some of my speeches. The poem has a way of sticking with me, and, how it has become a part of my personality. Thinking about this gives me goosebumps. While I am not a poetry buff, some other poems (or learnings from those) have stayed with me: Invictus, Agneepath, Seven ages by Shakespeare, Aatmatraan, the Road not Taken, almost all of the Prophet’s.

Yet, I can recite ‘If’ from wherever, whenever.

  • It makes me feel confident, empowered, and hopeful.
  • I feel able, more ready to trust myself.
  • It makes me feel brave.
  • I feel clairvoyant, humble, and de-stressed.
  • Centered, safe, determined, strong.
  • I feel like ‘giving it my all’ and ‘living…

--

--

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince