Why Love Poem

Karlo Tasler
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2022

--

“A couple in Camden Town” by Karlo Tasler

I was sensing your hot blood,
Just down there at the river,
As cold water was wrinkling up your toes.
I was looking at you, effortlessly.
I could fondly hear your heart,
Giving the rhythm to the river’s mystical flow.

But you needed proof.
You wanted proof!
A translation of what I was hearing.
You always wanted.
I couldn’t give it to you.

“Why? Whyyy?” You were seeking an explanation of everything.
Why Summer? Why Autumn? Why God? Why us?
Why me, myself? Like this.
I don’t know why!
Who cares why!

I caressed you with my deepest being.
“What do you want from me?” you asked.
“Absolutely nothing,” I answered.
You said that one who doesn’t want anything has nothing.
But how come then I felt I had everything…
Just by listening to your heart?

And then I hurt you. Intentionally.
I made a drama.
Because only in suffering I needed you. I wanted you.
I could speak to you.
The drama was the only…

--

--

Karlo Tasler
ILLUMINATION

Explaining the complexity of life and its various perspectives through the beautiful game of football. Or rather the tragic game of football, so to speak.