Why to be SCARED to LIVE

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2024

Fear of failure? Fear of missing out? Fear of rejection or fear that you’re not capable enough? Fear of going out? Fear of getting judged by people?

We tend to fear everything right? From fear of getting low marks in exams to fear of failing in life. But why do we fear, isn’t it just fear of living a lousy future we worked our whole damn life for, or is it fear to see others live a much better life than us. I asked myself —” What life wants from me”, but then the more important question should be “What do I want from my life”.

Photo by Natasha Fernandez, Pexels.com

Yesterday I read a poem written by my friend, some lines are:

“When the treasure is within you, then why sail north

when the answer is somewhere within you, then why look at scripts”

I realized isn’t every answer we’re searching for just lies within us only.

Here’s what I wrote for people who are scared to make choices in their lives like me:

On dreary days and gloomy nights

On days you feel frozen in the endless storm of your own thoughts

On days you need validation from others about your own decisions, your own opinions, and your own choices

On days when you let yourself feel emotions that others want you to feel

On days you see everyone getting ahead of you

On days you feel “I’m not where I’m supposed to be”

On days you see a long unknown road ahead of you

On days you feel scared,,,, but from what?

Scared to choose?

Scared of losing others?

Scared of letting yourself down?

Or, Scared to live, living your own life?

But why be scared when YOU ARE THE LIFE

Why be scared to choose when you know every path leads to a place and you need to tread the path till the end to know whether that place is your “destination” or not?

Why be scared when life always offers a U-turn, just when you feel like being on the wrong path take a detour and find the right path.

Why be scared to be alone when you never discovered the peace of being with yourself?

When there’s nothing stopping you then why stop yourself from living the life that you actually deserve?

Just remember:

You are the author of your own narrative, the architect of your own destiny.

--

--

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION

A 19 year old teenager. If you are also confused and struck like me too, do read my posts. Will be happy to have discussions about it.