META | READING | MEDIUM | TWITTER

Why Tweeting Text Segments is Better Than Sharing and Highlighting Articles

I’m sure you all missed my adorable meta articles

Nikos Skordilis
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readOct 6, 2022

--

A hand holding a smartphone with a map of the world in the background, representing tweeting all over the world.
Image by Edar from Pixabay

After tens of thousands of words of fiction, poetry and quite a bit of non fiction I think the time is ripe for one of my meta articles you all appear to love so much. So let’s ‘cut right to the roast’ as we say it in Greek.

Being a notoriously slow reader and repeat off.. er… commenter I have been trying to spend less time reading and commenting, so that I read more words of those I follow.

The main reason I read slow is fracking highlighting. I highlight more than I should and then ‘quote highlight’ 1 to 5 segments in 1 to 5 comments respectively. In that way I waste both my own time and that of the writers, who then read my comments and reply or clap.

My solution to this problem is to skip highlighting and have sweet Emma read for me, then clap and leave one meaningful comment. I could never skip comments too and turn into a mere clapper. Emma rarely exceeds the read time and she always secures a full Read.

Using Emma or the AI of your choice and highlighting at the same time is virtually impossible. The text jerks all over, so you need to pause the AI…

--

--

Nikos Skordilis
ILLUMINATION

Curious Top 0.1% content creator trying to gain a more beautiful mind and a lighter heart via his words and visuals.