Why You Should Avoid Making Own App

3 reasons to focus rather on the web world than on mobile

Dmytro Khmelenko
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Photo by Jaelynn Castillo on Unsplash

Some time ago I started exploring available options for a side hustle. In the beginning, I was thinking about doing something interesting after work and learn new technologies. After some time I started thinking if it is possible to monetize it. You have an app, users all around the world are using it, making purchases and you become rich just like Warren Buffett said once.

If you don’t find a way to make money while you sleep, you will work until you die.

― Warren Buffett

I started building apps for different mobile platforms. It was fun, new technologies were constantly appearing and the market keeps growing. However, my attempts to monetize my applications were failing. I was investing time and energy in adding new features and improving existing ones. But that didn’t really help.

Getting some production experience working for companies helped me to find answers. Becoming an indie developer on mobile platforms is a real challenge.

Take into consideration the following issues next time you think about building an app. Then ask yourself if it’s possible to have a web app instead of a mobile app?

--

--

Dmytro Khmelenko
ILLUMINATION

Software Engineering | Startups | Education| Technical Leadership | Learn how to boost your career from “Unlock the Code” http://amzn.to/3j5Nm27