Why You Should Never Put on an Alarm

Samantha
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2023

--

These past few months, I have been waking up extremely stressed and anxious, without any particular reason. That heavy feeling weighed me down, turning what could’ve been a bright new day into a drag. I soon realized it was my alarm that jolt did that. Here’s why we might be better off without it

The Snooze Trap Disrupts Your Sleep Cycle

Source: Wikimedia Commons

That snooze button feels like a lifeline on some mornings, but trust me, it's not doing us any favors.

Think about it like diving into a calm lake. It takes time to get to the bottom. But imagine every time you hit that snooze button, it’s as if someone’s pulling you back to the surface before you can truly explore the depths.

In simpler words, it’s like baking cookies and taking them out just as they start to get gooey, over and over.

Neither fully baked nor completely raw. And nobody likes half-baked cookies.

We sleep in cycles, typically around 90 minutes each. Within these cycles, we drift from light sleep to deep dreamy stages.

When your alarm first buzzes, you’re wrapping up a cycle. By hitting snooze, you’re dipping your toe into a new cycle, only to get yanked out moments later.

--

--

Samantha
ILLUMINATION

I try to combine my psychology background with storytelling to inspire positive change and growth. Currently pursuing my PsyD from Yale