Why? Your First Freelance Job Su**s!!

Toushik Banik
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2020
Photo by Per Lööv on Unsplash

Hey,
So, you want to be a freelancer?

That’s great news “It is estimated that, by 2020, more than 40% of the American labor force — 60 million people — will be self-employed”

In this global pandemic, with job crises(estimate 20 million lost jobs by April 6th), salary cutdowns, and lockdown on a global stage maybe you want to have some side income.

Or, you are a student and want some cash for your studies. Or, you are bored with your 9 to 5 job and you want this freelancing lifestyle. There are plenty of reasons to start freelancing.

Then, what is the problem? why do I think Freelancing S**ks?

This is my experience with my freelancing career in 2020:

First things First; who am I? and why you should listen to me?

First things Fir

I am a student and I started my freelancing career when someone on youtube inspired me for freelancing. He literally told me that it is like a birthday cake and it is waiting just for me.

So, I started my journey as a writer on a freelancing platform because I love writing it allows my mind to go to any place it wants to with no restrictions.

But the problem is that I am a beginner on that platform and I don’t have any past Clint history to show. I don’t have a 5* rating on the platform. Which is really important if you want any client.

It is a big problem. But I do agree that everyone has the same problem. So I find out a solution. I thought that if I put my rates really low then it will help. So I start offering my services just for $5 Cool.

But, my problems are just starting. I find out that theare is a huge crowd. They all are using the same tactics. It is impossible to stand out when 20–30 people are standing against you and offering the same(sometime Bette) rates. Especially when they have a Clint history and you don’t. And no one is looking for your talent they are just buying the cheap & best.

Now you can argue that it is just a matter of time when you have your 1'st Clint you will also have the same ground to compete. I do agree with you But it is not an easy job. Because to have my 1'st Clint I have to spend a lot of connections to send a lot of proposals on the platform. It is more hard when freelancing platforms are charging you for connections.

Now you can argue that it is your investment and you have to invest if you want to be successful. So I do buy some connections and I start sending proposals.

Some peoples do reply and I have my First freelancing writing contract on for a blogger after a long battle.

Now, you can say that’s it. But it is not so easy my return on investment is really low. Because I am paying for connections and also competing on a low margin. It was a hard one He just paid me $5 for a 1500 word blogpost. This is not the total story. The all-mighty platform that takes 20% commotion on it and gave me just $4.

So I paid$49.99 for the membership cost on the platform & $30 for my connections and I spend a week just by sending proposals. Then Few more days on conversations with Clints. Then a 1500 word article.

So I literally spend $79.99 and more than a weak for my 1st clint.who just paid me $4.

Final Thoughts:

That’s it. That is my first experience in freelancing as a content writer in 2020.
So, what are your thoughts on freelancing? Comment down below.

Also, you can have a look at my article step by step Meditation.

Step By Step Meditation:

The Millionaire Investing Advice In Your 20s:

How To Self-Promote Your Medium Stories On Reddit:

--

--