Will It Rise?

My encounter with Levain bread.

Margie Pearl
ILLUMINATION

--

It’s lucky that I am a great cook because I’ve been doing a lot of it lately.

I kind can rummage through my cookbooks and cupboards and make something tasty. I enjoy food; if I like something at a restaurant or that someone has brought to a potluck, I will ask about the ingredients and try it out at home.

That’s not to say I haven’t had disasters like the fried eggplant. It tasted so bitter, we agreed as a family to spit the first bite out without swallowing. I bought that lustrous aubergine eggplant at a farmer’s market. The recipe didn’t mention the need to soak it first. I will leave eggplant to the professionals.

The last excursion

The last restaurant my husband and I ate at, before the Stay-At-Home order began, was the Vina. It still serves the best egg rolls I’ve ever tasted. I’ve been going there for over 35 years. When I was pregnant, I remember my daughter giving me a double kick of appreciation after a meal. Two generations of satisfied customers in one sitting.

--

--

Margie Pearl
ILLUMINATION

Tell me a story! margie@margiepearl.com. Author, storyteller, poet, seamstress, knitter, gardener. Bio.link/margiepe