MASKING IN AMERICA

Will Masking Be More Common?

After a hiatus, the author returns to his favorite barber shop and wonders if masking protocols from COVID will trickle into everyday life.

André Alyeska
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2022

--

Sitting in the chair at my local barber shop, I was feeling a little guilty. I hadn’t been in to see Brett in almost two years. I lamely explained; my wife gave me a buzz cut a few times when the pandemic first hit, and then I wanted to support a friend who was starting his own studio. Plus, every time I passed by the shop it looked like he was busy with people lined up outside.

Photo of a city street, with retail businesses featuring, Barber Shop with a red white and blue awning with barber pole and chairs outside.
The City Barber Shop in Corvallis, Oregon. — Photo by André Alyeska.

I liked being back in the barbershop. From the sports paraphernalia on the walls, to the jokes, I missed the masculine vibe. That’s why I go to an old school barbershop.

We caught up like we usually do and talked about COVID and the impact on his business. Brett said business has been good. But he also said, “Don’t wait so long next time.” And I noticed he didn’t have his usual second barber working the next chair over.

I kept my mask on for 95% of the cut; he’d ask me to unhook the mask off one ear only when he was trimming that side. I inquired if he received any resistance from customers to mask up when in his shop. He said people have been understanding…

--

--

André Alyeska
ILLUMINATION

Editor of Animated Man, Time Traveler and QMHA. Writes on Politics, Social Issues, Men, Mental Health, and Mindfulness with the goal to fix this mess we’re in.