Winter storm warnings Make Me Cry Living in a Van

JoyRoute
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2022

--

Winter storms Make Me Cry

Photo by Kenny Leys on Unsplash

I hate winter storms. I really really do. I try not to use the word hate.

I try not to attach the word hate to any person or thing.

Hate is a bad word because it eats up too much emotional currency. I check the weather every single morning because it is crucial to know the weather living and traveling in my van.

When I hear that a blizzard is coming, I stop everything to prepare for the winter storm.

I was having a good fucking Friday morning coming off a productive Thursday in which I participated in WriteHere. Medium’s writing prompt challenge.

Thursday evening, I spent two hours on Zoom in an accountability group. Graciously hosted by @LeadLikeAQueen.

We use the Pomodoro method in our accountability group.

The Pomodoro method is when you pick one project to focus on. You set a timer for 25–30 minutes and you get to work.

We work for 25 minutes, and then we rest and chat for 5 or 10 minutes.

Since I completed my writing goal, I decided to spend the first 25 minutes freestyling, meaning writing and reading.

--

--

JoyRoute
ILLUMINATION

Bestselling author of 'How to Outline a Nonfiction Book.' Crafting personal essays on tales of travel, true crime, and about whatever strikes my fancy