Women through generations.

A poem

Riddhi Sinha♡
ILLUMINATION
2 min readAug 13, 2024

--

Photo by Prince Akachi on Unsplash

A skinny body with an extra bulk of fat on her chest,

Not too much not too little,

A curved waist with firm legs,

A gorgeous face with a seducing figure,

Mushy red cheeks with a button nose,

A pale skin with plumped lips,

Deep brown eyes with curly bangs,

Was just that meant being a women?

Suffocating my breath, damaging my internals,

Trying to fit into things I gained a fear of rejection,

Insecurities engulfed me, my feet dulled,

I tried escaping and the world laughed at me,

Was only being pretty defined women through generations?

Coming in different shapes and sizes, we criticize all,

“Rules were always meant to be broken”,

Was all that, too hard to realise?

Trying to fit into the standards i never raised, greed and foolishness drowned me.

Trying to reach the shore, fixing every inch of mine felt reassured,

Every scar felt like a grossed plain into a beautiful scenery,

Whitewashing my body felt easier than embracing my curves,

Hatred grew on me outrageously,

Drowning me into the ocean of distrust I never belonged to,

Were humans always meant to be treated like dolls?

Applying thousands of fairness creams I gained embrassment for my own skin,

Was my colour always too dark to be called beautiful?

A God’s creation, a sheer perfection in disguise, was that all a myth?

Imperfection became mesmerizing when perfectionism felt fake,

Being a women, a creation of our God itself,

Was that isnt enough?

Falling into trap of social media, trying to compete,

I lost the most precious part of myself,

A mesmerized beauty with amazing wonders, a fearless soul and a powerful mind with an essence of abundant intelligence,

Was all that about a women wasn’t enough compared to her beauty?

With resentment embedded into her eyes,

She cried out for forgiveness to her most precious one, herself.

She realised her own beauty residing inside her soul way prettier than any beauty standards ever made,

She loved herself in a billion ways she can,

Realising she’s her own spark of sunshine in a world full of narcissists,

I hope you liked my work. I wish you healing and to love yourself before anyone else♡

--

--

Riddhi Sinha♡
ILLUMINATION

Just a teenager here, trying poetry as her passion♡. I write about fantasy, poetry,love and fiction.