Words do hurt

James P. Whitfield
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min read6 hours ago

How many times have you heard someone say words do not affect me? You can say anything as long as you do not put your hands on me. Words hurt no matter if a person doesn’t want to admit it. Imagine being vulnerable to someone; one day, they get upset and use what you told them as a weapon. You would be devastated because you thought what you shared with this person was sacred. This is one of the reasons I have a tough time opening up to others. I know that no matter how angry I become, I will not use something you mentioned to me as a weapon. Some would say everyone is not you, and you cannot expect someone to react as you would. I wouldn’t do that out of my love and respect for the person. If you do this to me, I will assume that you do not have any respect for me because if you did, you would not have said something hurtful without thinking first. I watch what I say to others, especially when upset, because genuine emotions emerge. There are some things you can not take back once it was told. Whatever you said will stay in my head forever, straining the friendship or relationship. Be mindful of how you talk to others.

--

--

James P. Whitfield
ILLUMINATION

I love to write about things that I am passionate about, and the subjects that I choose to write about will be relatable. Enjoy!!