Wow, Seems Like You Have It All Figured Out!

Three Things I Have Learned About Myself, While Working With The Addiction Population

Ryan Fleming
ILLUMINATION

--

As I continue my work in the field of Mental Health and Addiction, I also learn more about myself through the process.

Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

1. My Theoretical Preferences:

As a clinician we learn about so many different types of psychological theories and schools of thought. Some of the theories are Psychoanalysis, Psychodynamic, Humanistic, Cognitive, Behaviorist and Gestalt. As we continue to study, we find that we are drawn more to particular ways of thinking than others.

That is primarily because of our personality and beliefs. However, it is common to agree with “bits and pieces” of each school of thought. Many mental health professionals will have an eclectic approach to working with clients.

I tend to find myself drawn to the cognitive school of thought, with humanistic aspects added in. My personality tends to agree with Rogerian person-centered therapy techniques.

I believe that the client plays an intricate part of their treatment and aspects like empathetic listening, unconditional positive regard, rephrasing and congruence are necessary for client’s to succeed at recovery.

--

--

Ryan Fleming
ILLUMINATION

Golf is Life ⛳🤙 MA. Counseling Psychology. Writer for "The Happy Human" and “Illumination”