Writer’s Challenge, Challenge

Writing Challenges are Totally Stupid!

So, I tried one; and now the writing topics just seem to flow

Timothy Key
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readApr 19, 2020

--

Photo by madsmith33 on Pixabay

I wasn’t looking for a writing challenge. It found me.

I was occasionally bemoaning how difficult it can be some days to find something to write about. And, I was dealing with the fact that I should be working on making my writing more concise. Tighter.

Which is probably why Dr Mehmet Yildiz’s suggestion to write a brief piece every day for thirty days jumped out at me. He suggested 300–500 words that delivered three points of value each day.

I don’t think I was even planning to write the day I read that particular piece with the suggestion; but for some reason it lit a fire and I pulled out a clean, crisp new Word document and set pen on paper.

I figured I could write 300 words pretty easily. But I needed a topic. Or at least an inspiration.

Behold: Wikipedia!

Say what you will about the peer-edited online encyclopedia, but, if nothing else, it contains a wealth of eclectic information. So, my thirty-day saga began.

Now, on day 23, I have a confession, a few insights, an epiphany, a second confession and some…

--

--

Timothy Key
ILLUMINATION

Retired from fire service after 26 years. Writer and world traveler. I believe compassion, grace and gratitude are contagious and should be spread liberally.