Writing Every Monday Morning, For Me At Least

New writer’s commitment

James Y Kim
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 22, 2023

--

Photo credit: Pexels.com — Judit Peter: Person Writing On A Notebook Beside Macbook

It’s a bright sunny Monday morning in Chicago. I just dropped off my girls at school and afterward, took advantage of earning 100 bonus points when ordering a coffee through my Dunkin app on Mondays. I’m back home now getting ready for the work week.

As I opened up my Medium page before going through my work emails, I thought about a self-commitment to writing on here every Monday morning before diving head-deep into work-related stuff. For many on here, that may be a given. However, for me, it’s a big step to make such a commitment to something I’ve just started to explore more of.

Photo credit: Creative Writing: Resources & Links — Daniel O’Brien; Fair use

I know that many writers on here say that you should write every day on here, especially if you want to grow your follower base quickly. I’m going to start with baby steps since my main job is being a founder of my own startup company.

Maybe it’s the bright sunshine that’s helping me make this commitment come more easily. Sunshine is pretty rare during the winter months where I live. It’s so welcomed and craved and I definitely feel more energized this morning than those usual gloomy mornings we typically have during the winter.

I’ve always loved writing and have felt I can communicate my thoughts and ideas better through writing than speaking. You have more time to collect your thoughts, prioritize them, and decide the chronology of delivering your thoughts.

Photo credit: Pexels.com — Pixabay: Man Walking in the Forest

Writing is an interest I want to really explore further. I’m grateful that a platform like Medium exists where we can explore this interest to where it has the opportunity to develop into a passion. I’m still in the infancy stages of this and I think starting with a small commitment like writing every Monday morning before work can be a spark that leads to bigger commitments. Bigger commitments can lead to further building this craft and ultimately transforming this into a passion.

I’ve already written multiple articles on helping people get out of student debt more quickly. Some are already published here: Tackling Student Loan Debt. Please take a look if you’re interested.

I’m also starting to write about entrepreneurship since I’m the founder of a startup fintech company, AlumSum. There’s so much that goes into building a product and company that begins with just an idea. I hope to document my journey as a founder and provide insights from what I’ve gone through.

I’m really looking forward to growing as a writer. Come join me on this writing journey!

Thanks for reading, friend! If you like what you read from me, you can buy me a coffee to support me.

If you’re interested in learning about how to get out of student loan debt faster, please go follow my own new Medium publication that specifically targets this topic: Tackling Student Loan Debt.

--

--

James Y Kim
ILLUMINATION

Founder of AlumSum / Status quo challenger / Entrepreneurial DNA / Chicago Booth MBA