Writing for my patients gave me Joy

Damane Zehra
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min read3 days ago
Photo by Thom Milkovic on Unsplash

Writing is something I enjoy. I take pleasure in writing, especially because of my beautiful handwriting. We had to write with a lead pencil until fifth grade when I started school. I was excited to write with a pen when I started sixth grade.

After learning to write with a pen, I have been writing nonstop since that day. I found my writing mesmerizing. While my friends used to cram notes and books while preparing for an exam, I was more interested in making notes in my beautiful handwriting because it gave me a chance to write more.

I still find it very satisfying to write with an ink pen, but I have been typing for a long time now. I feel tired of typing all day. I miss the joy of writing with an ink pen and the satisfaction of seeing beautiful cursive writing on paper.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I never knew that someday I would discover this talent of mine in a different way.

There is no concept of personal secretaries, medical assistants, or medical transcriptionists in our hospitals. Eight years ago, when I was a fresh medical graduate doing an internship in a public sector hospital, many patients came to us with a stack of forms that required treatment details from the physician to get reimbursement for their treatment charges from their employers.

Most of the time, I had to fill out endless forms because my colleagues found it quite boring and did not have the patience to listen to a lot of patient queries. They always handed over those patients and the stack of papers to me because they knew that not only was I patient in listening to the demands, but I also wrote more legibly than most of my colleagues.

I kept writing summaries, unaware that I would be doing that for years.

We see many patients from other countries who need details to get a visa. Our Pakistani patients require many summaries as well regarding their treatment, in which we have to mention the number of chemotherapy cycles and radiation sessions, the estimated cost of everything, the expected treatment duration, and when the patient would be fit enough to return to work.

My seniors discovered this talent of mine when they saw the first summary I made. Over time, I mastered the art of writing summaries. I learned how to write visa applications for patients, using persuasive language to highlight the gravity of their circumstances, and successfully advocating for patients’ families to receive visa facilitation.

When my seniors discovered that I made exceptional and detailed summaries for visas, employers, leave certificates, and death summaries of our deceased patients, many patients and their families started coming to see me.

One of our breast cancer patients has an only son who works in Australia. After completing neoadjuvant chemotherapy, she prepared for surgery and specifically requested that her son be by her side during the procedure. My consultant told me to write an excellent letter to the embassy so that her son could be facilitated regarding his visit to Pakistan.

I wrote a heartfelt letter to the embassy as a physician, and he got the visa within a week. The patient was so happy, and the whole family came to thank us. She got her surgery and radiation treatment done, and now she has been cured. Whenever she comes for a follow-up, she always comes to see me. I love seeing her smile.

Photo by Kaishin | OneLushLife on Unsplash

Since that day, I have been assigned to make more summaries every day.

I don’t know whether I should feel happy or miserable about it, but the thought gives me a good feeling that at least I am doing something to facilitate my patients.

I feel satisfied when they get the kind of response they want from the embassy or their employers because of my words. Despite that, I hate typing and miss writing with a pen.

Another positive side is that I spend all day calling the pharmacy to ask about the cost of every chemotherapy drug and getting familiar with different brands of chemotherapy, immunotherapy, and targeted drugs available in our country. This has given me a lot of confidence when deciding on the treatment for the patient because I always try to keep their socioeconomic conditions and financial aspects in mind as well.

One of our patients has metastatic breast cancer. Her disease progressed through many lines of chemotherapy and hormonal treatments. After that, she got her next-generation sequencing done. It’s a very costly investigation that detects specific targets or genetic mutations for which we can give specific treatment.

Very few patients in Pakistan are privileged enough to afford this test and the targeted agents needed in their particular case. Most of the time, these medications are unavailable in Pakistan due to restrictions by the Drug Regulatory Authority of Pakistan.

These drugs are mostly imported illegally from other countries through unreliable sources, and we can never be sure about their efficacy. They are extremely costly, yet people buy them because there is no other option.

Our patient had a mutation detected in her gene sequencing, for which she needed a drug that was not available. Her family tried every possible source, but they couldn’t acquire the drug. Then we learned about a Novartis programme that would supply the drug free of charge if we enrolled her in a clinical trial.

That involved a lot of paperwork and a lot of time and effort, but as always, I was assigned this task. The attendants were after me because they knew I was trying to arrange that drug. I spent days completing all the forms and correspondence through mail. Three weeks later, we finally got the drug for our patient.

Novartis supplied three months of medication, and the patient’s family was so grateful. They always remember me and show their gratitude whenever they meet me. The patient knew I love to read, so she gave me a beautiful book as a token of love.

On the title page, she wrote, “For the doctor who forever changes lives. Thank you.”

Image by author

I know her disease might progress someday, even on the medication, but I am still hopeful that maybe it works. I will always remember the joy on her son’s face when I handed him the medication.

I will remember her smile and the day she gave me the book in which she wrote such lovely words.

I don’t know what I will do in the future or where I will practice, but I am sure this beautiful memory will stay with me for the rest of my life.

--

--

Damane Zehra
ILLUMINATION

Pakistani oncologist who writes about personal experiences. “The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”