Writing is About Progress, Not Perfection

Like everything else in life, it’s all about the progress you make that will ultimately determine your success.

Ahmed Jamal
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

As you continue to write every day you learn one or two things about writing, you develop skills you didn’t have before but, at the same time there are few things you need to avoid as you continue to progress, among those things to avoid is to look for perfection especially when it comes to writing.

Doing that will not only hinder your progress, but it will also make you miss so many opportunities that would have rather made a huge difference in your writing journey.

I can tell you this from first-hand experience, possibly one you could also relate to it in case you are at the beginning of your writing career or you are ready well ahead.

For the past few months, I was struggling to write partly due to my busy schedule, but I was also contemplating what to write about to make a comeback that could possibly be perfect in content and has an eye-catching headline, until I finally realized looking for this kind of perfectionism was simply standing in my way to write at all.

A friend of mine recently shared his view with me about perfectionism. He told me that he used to believe everything you…

--

--

Ahmed Jamal
ILLUMINATION

Kind and Simple | Life Long Learner | Loves Reading | Writer and Editor @ ILLUMINATION | E-mail: abahaaji@gmail.com |