Writing Is an Intimate Act. Make Love to Your Audience.

‘’It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous.’’ — Robert Benchley

Davis Okioma
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

Since we started making out, it was clear that my girlfriend was insecure about her body. I never got to understand why but she’d always reach out to the bedside lamp and make the room a little darker. In case you’re wondering, she’s a light-skinned, 6’0" foot tall, petite, and pretty much the most attractive lady I’ve ever been with up until now.

I brought the issue up on the weekend of Eid ul-Fitr because the whole thing was messing with our intimacy and the spark of our relationship was slowly fading away by the day. Turns out, she had a form of scarring on her skin, better referred to as stretch marks. Crazy right?

The reason why you don’t write often is that you feel like your articles are not good enough. Maybe you think editors at that new publication will not like it. Just like my significant other, it’s always about what the other party thinks. It’s time you make it about you.

Writing is about stripping naked in your articles and walking down the page. It’s about being honest with your audience no matter how ugly…

--

--