Writing Tools — All You Need is Pen and Paper

..and Word, Scapple, Scrivener, Power-point, Google docs, Grammarly, Hemmingway App, and Google keep

Tommy Ueland
ILLUMINATION

--

Spoiler: I use all of the above

Pen and paper

Many of the best writers in the world have written and still write books “the old fashion way” with pen and paper.

J.K Rowling:

Jo conceived the idea of Harry Potter in 1990 while sitting on a delayed train from Manchester to London King’s Cross. Over the next five years, she began to map out all seven books of the series. She wrote mostly in longhand and gradually built up a mass of notes, many of which were scribbled on odd scraps of paper. https://www.jkrowling.com/about/

James Patterson:

I write longhand in pencil on a legal pad and give the pages to my assistant to type up. When I get back the first draft, typed triple-spaced, I write between the lines, this time with a ballpoint pen. When I go through the manuscript a second and third time, I just read between the lines, and only deal with what I’ve written that draft. https://www.penguin.co.uk/articles/2018/james-patterson-writing-life/

Some not quite so good writers (me), is trying to vacuum the internet dry for…

--

--

Tommy Ueland
ILLUMINATION

Father, writer, aspiring blogger, connoisseur of everyday joy and professional procrastinator.