Years Ago My Family Had Some Cows

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2023

At least 20 years ago from now my Family had some cows, they had them for decades. It must have been beautiful. What today is my home, was once theirs. If only I could take a peek through time, that would be one of the few things that I would like to see.

My Uncle and my grandmother once in a while used to tell me some stories of the past.

Hearing these stories make me think about what could have been. The World didn’t make us tired back then, not mentally.

Photo by Quaritsch Photography on Unsplash

My Grandmother used to tell me the story of one of those cows named ‘Annu’. Each cow had a lovely name given by my aunts or grandmother. They didn’t keep them like kettle but like friends.

So Annu was a beautiful cow bluish coloured, at least that’s what I remember from what my grandmother told me years ago, should have paid more attention. Everyday my grandmother set her and other cows free and used to tell Annu in her ear to come home early, suppose at 4:30pm. She used to come home almost exactly at the same time. If there were change in plans some day, she’d tell her to come even more early or late, and she followed whatever my grandmother said. And when she used come back, seeing her, all of her friends used to come back.

I remember only the name of a single cow ‘Annu’ because her name was carved into a pillar of my old house. And there were other names too, carved into the walls of my old house, but I don’t remember them as they were not too clear, and I never bothered to ask any elder. My old home is nothing but a piece of rubble today inside the earth, beneath my new home, and providing foundation for it.

Now neither my grandmother is here to tell me another story of her cows or some other incidents of her life. Nor am I at my home.

Now I am out, to seek something, to become someone. The only thing I can become(not pretend) is what or who truly resides in me. But life is a river, you can’t stop the flow, the only thing you can do is to get better at swimming. Eventually this river will be lost in the ocean, which is the presence of the Lord.

Jai Shri-Man Narayan!

--

--

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION

I write on Life, Spirituality, and a bunch of other good stuff. Follow me if you want to read something amazing daily.