Image: Author

Yellow Through The Window

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION

--

Today I breathe so easily
Where Nereid and Neptune abound
Healing my heart in Mendocino
No longer against the Sound

I don’t miss the summer rains
That taunt the Hebrides
From Bolinas. to Mendocino
It’s sunshine and a breeze

The lick of contented happiness
That blooms upon my face
Says to my aging heart
I’m in the perfect place

Build a fence around me
One I cannot leap
Keep me close to the sea
And share my love of the deep

I cannot write a poem
Rhyming verse is all I do
But with the heart of a poet
I write this one for you

To love in California
Remembering my truth
This love is well conditioned
And has been since my youth

Battered through life by shame
I sleep soundly in our home
On the edge of the pacific ocean
Finally whole and no longer alone

Every day I still wonder
Whenever you’re not there
If it’s all my imagination
Created from despair

But our home sits on the bluff
On a shoreline rugged and wide
Yellow through its windows
Shines on the woman I love inside

--

--

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025