Yes, You Can Be Productive From Your Couch

No, really!

John Teehan
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Paul Weaver on Unsplash

What if I told you that those perfect home offices you see on social media aren’t the only way to work from home and still be productive?

You’d assume I was a sociopath of some sort. Maybe you’d be correct, but hear me out.

I live in a small house with surprisingly little free space. I also have a very active six-year-old and a wife who works from home half the week.

A few years ago, I had a nice, almost Instagram-worthy setup that was a nicely productive space. Since then, with all the changes in our household with a young child and this “post”-Covid world, I’ve had to adjust and roll with the changes.

My basement-based office and studio space were severely damaged by a flood a number of years ago, and we haven’t fully reclaimed the area to the point where it is possible to work comfortably. And because my son has his own room, that backup workspace is no longer available.

I worked from the kitchen table for a while, but that’s now the center of family activity — meals, homework, games, play-do, Legos, etc. In fact, kitchen-wise, I’m competing for space with more laundry and dishes.

--

--

John Teehan
ILLUMINATION

Writer specializing in tech, business, parenting, pop culture, and gaming. Visit wordsbyjohn.net for more info and rates. Twitter: @WordsByJohn2