Yesterday When I went to Buy Some Curd ………

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2023
Photo by Anshu A on Unsplash

Yesterday, When I was going out, my mother asked me to bring some curd from the dairy, on my way back. She gave me 5 Rupees.

I had my doubts, “is it possible to buy curd of rupees 5 (such less amount),” but I decided against arguing with my mother. And off I went.

While coming back I almost forgot about the curd, the credit goes to the drivers of my town. Hat’s off to you, guys.

As I remembered, I turned my cycle towards the dairy. As I went in, the shopkeeper smiled mildly at me. He was an old man, in his sixties or something. His smile meant something like “God fulfills everyone’s wishes", and my brain mockingly replied, only I could’ve heard, “Yeah offcourse".

I asked for what I wanted. “I’ll give it to you" said the shopkeeper “can you just do a little something for me". “whom do I kidnap, sir?” my brain commented, offcourse only I could hear, “Please do tell" is all I said to the man, while I hushed my brain to silence.

He pick up his old mobile phone (real old) I wondered how many ages has it seen. This thing made me remember of old times when my father used to have a Nokia phone with a physical alphanumeric keypad, white-grey in colour.

Nowadays, they make memes about old Nokia phones, they say if you were to throw a brick and an old Nokia phone targeting towards someone’s head, the Nokia phone will be faster and will have more chances of cracking the skull of your victim.

Anyway, as this is not a murder manual (might as well write that someday), we should continue.

So he showed me the phone and asked me to fix the SIM problem the phone had, and to reset the time and date, and to reduce the snooze timing of the alarm from 5 minutes to 3 minutes. Pretty basic stuff. Even a kid nowadays can do it.

He said “I learned how to set the time and date, but I forgot" and then asked me “will you do it?” Me being me, smiled, nodded and took the phone. Some time later when it was done I handed it to him.

He took his time giving the customers what they needed. I waited. After some time “what was it that you wanted?” he asked, I replied. “Oh curd of rs 5, but I sell minimum of rs 10, so you can’t have it".

“It’s alright" I said and turned towards my cycle, but I heard him calling me back, as I turned, I saw him smiling. He presented me with a pack of rupees 10 curd I said “I only have 5" he thought for moment and said “you know what, take it all". I took it and started back to my home.

As I passed the temple of Lord AkshayaGuna, my mind and I (for he knows who I am) said “Jai Shri-Man Narayan!”, silently. Thanked him for everything I have, this world is making me more grateful day by day.

You might think this is a story of me being patient and being rewarded due to it but no this is the story of me being me so that a person could trust me with his phone, and thought that I would actually help. Oh lord, this is who I want to be.

Point to be noted, it takes us no effort to be ourselves, neither should you want any appraisal for being yourself, but if people are kind to you, then they do deserve it. One day the cycle would be completed, have patience.

I reached my home and what did my family say “ So, you Are of some use”.

Thanks for Reading.

Give it some claps if you liked it.

--

--

Ayush Khare
ILLUMINATION

I write on Life, Spirituality, and a bunch of other good stuff. Follow me if you want to read something amazing daily.