Inspiration and Life

Make Your Life Last

What will you leave behind?

Bill Abbate
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

Is it possible to live beyond death? Yes, in a sense. Each of us leaves our story, which can live indefinitely. What will yours be? Why not make it meaningful and long-lasting? You can if you want. Read on to learn how!

Living beyond

As you age, you begin thinking more about your impact, how much time remains, and the legacy you will leave behind. Have you given much thought to each of these areas? If not, there is no time like the present to begin thinking about the lives you touch and the legacy you will leave.

The longer you live, the more death you see, and the more it influences your life. When you are young, you usually experience very few deaths of people you know firsthand. I recall my grandfather dying when I was about four years old. In my teens, my uncle lost his infant daughter, and a year later, my aunt lost her 2-year-old little girl. Losing a child is a tragic event. I remember how difficult it was for them and saw how it affected their lives.

In my late 30s, a friend my age died in a plane crash. His death struck me to the core. He left behind his wife and young children. I started to consider what if that were to happen to me. What would become of my wife and daughter? Not a…

--

--

Bill Abbate
ILLUMINATION

Leadership Writer and Editor in ILLUMINATION, Leadership/Executive Coach, Author www.BillAbbate.com