You Can Still Rebuild Your Career After These Common Tragedies Occur

Many let these common events hold back their careers. Here’s how to use them to redefine your career.

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readDec 1, 2021

--

Photo by Ulrich Derboven on Unsplash

He was the envy of 40,000 employees.

You’d see his face on the company intranet. He won all the career awards. He got a fully paid trip to an exotic location each year as part of the star performer program. The Chiefs were grooming him to take over the finance industry. One afternoon I came to the office.

“Hey, he hasn’t been around for a few days. Where did he go?” I said.

“Oh, he got demoted and moved to a regional office out in the sticks.”

I didn’t see him for a year.

The public demotion was the talk of the office. Everybody laughed at him. They wanted him to fail because of his perfect career record.

A year or so later he reappears in our office. He joined my team. It felt strange because he used to be a “Head of” and now he was a frontline pleb like me. We were the rats that dealt with the customer. We got paid peanuts while our bosses sipped lattes and did Facetime calls with their kids in private schools.

--

--

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb