You Deserve a Break — the World Can Wait

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2020

--

Don’t burn yourself out

Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

At the end of 2018, I was being sent home by my boss because I was too sick to work. I thought I could handle it but my body said the other way around. I didn’t know how bad I needed a break both from my work and personal life.

If you are the type of person who feels guilty about taking some time off for yourself like me, having this habit will make us suffer in the long run. It’s definitely nice to always be there for other people but we also need to care enough whether we are doing okay emotionally and physically or not.

I’m a firm believer that unless we take care of ourselves first, it’s hard to care for and love other people.

You Need a Break from Work

We all want to feel the need to be productive all the time. Increasing your working hours every time thinking it would help you gain more progress. But slowly but surely you realize that’s not happening and you might screw it up instead because your focus gets lesser and lesser.

If you feel like you’ve been on the edge of having a mental breakdown because of the overload of work you have on your plate, it’s time to call your boss and tell them you need a break. Like, a massive one.

--

--

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦