You Might Be Your Saboteur

Do you also sabotage yourself?

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMay 26, 2024

--

Annoyed Woman on Pink Background — Photo by Khosro on CANVA PRO

We’ve all heard the saying, “You are your own worst enemy.”

But what does it mean?

How can someone undermine their success and happiness?

Self-sabotage is a cunning foe lurking of our psyche, making us trip when we’re about to leap.

Self-sabotage is like an invisible chain. It’s not clear, but it holds you back nonetheless. A talented artist never finishes a painting because they think it’s never perfect. A great entrepreneur doesn’t pitch their great idea because they fear rejection. The common thread in these scenarios is fear. But it’s a fear masked as self-doubt, procrastination, or perfectionism.

I have a talented friend, Nadine. (Please, not her real name but her true name sounds like that. I hope she can read this.) Her voice could captivate anyone. Yet, she never pursued her dream of being a singer. She’d find a reason to say no whenever an opportunity came up. “I’m not ready,” she’d say. “Maybe next year.” The following year never came. Nadine was her saboteur; her fear of failure was so intense that it paralyzed her into inaction.

To overcome self-sabotage, you first need to recognize it. It’s come in many forms.

Delaying tasks for your growth.

Setting high standards and ensuring you never finish anything.

Doubting your abilities and decisions.

Overcommitment which can lead to burnout and failure.

Dodging uncomfortable situations or challenges.

Psychological problems cause these behaviors. They include a fear of failure, a fear of success, and low self-esteem.

Self-sabotaging behaviors are a result of cognitive dissonance. Someone holds two or more contradictory beliefs, ideas, or values. This causes mental discomfort. You might believe that you deserve success. But you also fear that you need to be better to achieve it. This difference can lead to behaviors. They can hurt your efforts to succeed.

Understanding your self-sabotaging behaviors is the first step in breaking complimentary. Please check on your actions and identify patterns that hold you back.

Replace negative self-talk with positive affirmations. Instead of thinking, “I’m not capable of doing this,” tell yourself, “I am capable and prepared.”

Break down your big goals into smaller, manageable tasks. Celebrate small victories along the way to build confidence.

Surround yourself with positive influences.

Be kind to yourself. Understand that failure is a part of growth, and it’s okay to make mistakes.

When I first started writing, my initial drafts could have been better. I was so afraid of criticism that I kept my writings to myself, convinced they weren’t good enough. One day, a person told me, “Perfection is the enemy of progress. Share your work, and you’ll improve.” Taking that advice to heart, I began to publish my work, imperfections and all. Positive and constructive feedback helped me grow.

Imperfection is for personal growth.

Perfectionism, a form of self-sabotage, had been holding me back. By letting go of the need to be perfect, I’ve freed myself to make progress.

J.K. Rowling is the author of the Harry Potter series. Before her books became a global phenomenon, she faced numerous rejections. She could’ve succumbed to self-doubt and given up, but she persevered. Her story is overcoming self-sabotage and achieving success despite the odds.

Oprah Winfrey faced a tough childhood and many setbacks. But she did not let these challenges ruin her dreams. Instead, she used them as stepping stones to build an empire. Oprah’s story demonstrates the power of resilience and self-belief in overcoming self-sabotage.

Positive affirmations:

“I am worthy of success.”

“I can achieve my goals.”

A fixed mindset believes that abilities are static and unchangeable. A growth mindset embraces learning and development.

Carol Dweck, a psychologist who said that having a growth mindset leads to more achievement and resilience. See challenges as chances to learn and grow, not as threats to your worth.

Self-sabotage is a formidable adversary, but it is not invincible.

Please subscribe here to receive the latest insightful stories by email.

Did you find this enjoyable? If so, remember to hit the clap button, which you can press up to 50 times and comment. Take advantage of more from me — ensure you’re following if you still need to. Thank you for being an integral part of my journey.

--

--

Charlene Ann Mildred
ILLUMINATION

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity. Email: charleneannmildredfbarroga@gmail.com