You Saved My Life

Not once, but twice — A love poem

J M Mantium
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Life without complications may be winter in August
but I know the worst is finally over now that I found you.

The more I know my mind the more careful I am with my time.
Every second I am not with you is too much to take.

I do not make promises I might break.
I do not make problems for convenience’s sake.

I saw you across the crowded room
and have no idea that one day I would call you mine.

The one with eyes of beautiful hazel brown.
The only one I can see in all my fantasies.

The fear of the feelings in the end
are quelled by the love that will never end.

My excitement ran over my patience.
As you liberated my right to lose my past self.
And my feelings felt the need to react.

Resistance could not last,
as I admired your beauty and relaxed.
Letting go of the three words with tears I harvested.

My reality has never felt so unreal.
I never would have guessed that the worst was over
when we met on the hill.

--

--

J M Mantium
ILLUMINATION

Irish writer, poet. I have a working knowledge of psychology and like to write about mental health & mindfulness, along with experimenting with different topics