Your past decides your present?

Mood Palette
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readJul 26, 2024
Photo by Christopher Sardegna on Unsplash

I was reading a book recently during my train journey that discussed how irrational it is for people to blame their past for their present decisions. Initially, it sounded condescending and ignorant, but as I thought more about it, I began to see some truth in it — though not entirely.

Admitting this makes me uncomfortable because it means taking responsibility.

When I blame my past, my parents, and their parenting for the choices I make or the way I behave, it’s often an excuse rather than the truth. I justify my actions to myself and others by shifting the blame.

But our parents did the best they knew while raising us. The negative experiences we went through shaped us into who we are today. While our past has influenced our actions, don’t you think that what we do today is ultimately within our control?

I’m not talking about those struggling with severe mental health issues. I’m talking about you and me, who sometimes dwell on our past to avoid living in the present.

We can either choose to blame our past and remain stagnant or stand up and pursue what we’ve been postponing.

--

--