7 Amazing Ways To Make Money While Home (Passive Income)

I’ve already made more than 5 sales! And she gained 9 million followers on TikTok!

Blake Kohan
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
6 min readOct 13, 2022

--

dog on ipad
photo credit: Unsplash//Cookie the Pom

Do you want to be able to start making passive income without having to put a lot of money upfront?

I did.

Which is why I have started learning more about passive income!

Here are 7 ideas to help you get inspired on your journey.

Start An Etsy Store

I am new at this but have already made over 5 sales on my digital product! I am excited about this because I hadn’t put that much effort into Etsy after making this product.

The only thing I did was reach out to people who “favorited” my item and then asked them if they would like a discount. 2 people said yes, and I made sales. One of those people also left a lovely, 5-star review which was amazing!

I am thinking of making new products that I can put a higher price on that take less time to make.

My first product took me a little while to create, I was okay with this for two reasons.

  1. I didn’t want to waste time thinking of the “perfect” product. I wanted to create something I thought was lovely quality and that people would enjoy. I didn’t want to overthink the idea.
  2. Canva took me a little while to figure it out. I kept changing the sizing and images… and wanted everything to look the best it could. I know that the more digital products I create, the quicker it will go because Canva will become easier to navigate.

There are people online that make A LOT on Etsy. I have come across their YouTube channels and have seen their dashboards. The numbers are neat to see!

If you want to start on Etsy with no upfront money, digital products are the best way to go! (I will go into more detail later in the section about digital products!)

Create A Newsletter

Starting a newsletter can be fun and a fantastic way to make income. Affiliate marketing, sponsored posts, selling your products if you have them…

One thing I read about a lot from successful writers/creators online is the importance of a newsletter. This helps you get to know your audience more and create specific content for them.

You could do something short and sweet like Tim Ferris and his 5-Bullet Friday, or build it into a mini “daily/weekly news updates in the finance industry.”

The other thing creators love about this is your list of subscribers. That way, if a platform like Instagram goes down, you have another way of reaching people that signed up to hear from you.

Research which newsletter/email provider would work best for your newsletter and business plan, and go from there!

Create A Course

Sophia Lee created a few courses which have generated a lot of money. She has a blogging course, a Pinterest course, and an email course!

If you want to create a course, it doesn’t have to be on “how to start a blog” if you don’t want/don’t have experience in it.

You could do a course on dog training, cooking, organizing, and creating digital products. The list is endless.

YouTuber Lana Blakely created a course on “Memoir Journaling” on Skillshare. She took time to create the course, perfect it, and then put it out into the world.

If you are a great photographer, YouTuber, or finance expert, you could make courses on that.

Etiquette instructor Myka Meier has made multiple online courses about etiquette for women and girls!

There are so many fun and creative ideas! Think of yours and begin:)

Start A YouTube Channel

Erika Kullberg started her YouTube Channel less than 3 years ago and has already gained over 763 thousand subscribers! And millions of followers on other social channels (9 million on TikTok alone).

She is an excellent example of there always being space for new creators on YouTube.

Her video, which had 2.3 million views, made her over 35k. That’s one video making her that much money!

And all of her old videos continue to make her money over time.

If you want to start a channel, do it. The market is not too crowded, and there is a place for you because you are unique.

If you’re looking for a sign to start a channel. This is it.

I also see a new look coming to people who are gaining fast momentum on YouTube.

Their lighting isn’t perfect, their backgrounds don’t look overly professional, and they don’t have super bright thumbnails. There is nothing wrong with those, but you can have success without them.

Some YouTubers I see gaining fast traction look more like old YouTube videos. Simple background, one location, simple topic.

The best part is, whatever your style may be, you can have success on YouTube.

If you want to be bright, sparkly, and do crazy stunts-great.

If you want to sit on your couch and talk about money-great.

Do what makes you happy so you can have fun while making the videos. If you have fun and enjoy it, you will keep it up for so much longer!

Start Writing On Medium

There is a surprising amount of people who can make money on Medium. And while I know they are in the top percent, I have seen something similar in all of these people.

  • They post consistently (or did when they were starting).
  • They post quality content.
  • They didn’t let perfectionism stop them from posting their first posts.

It’s possible to earn money from Medium, I have seen enough people do it. If you love writing, I think this is a great place to start! I am not even a month into this platform, but I am excited to see where it goes.

Make Digital Products

This one is amazing. I have first-hand experience realizing that you can make something in Canva and then sell it on Etsy and make money.

As I mentioned earlier, I will significantly increase the effort since I now realize this is a possibility.

There are a lot of digital products that you can make and sell on different platforms.
Some digital product items include:

  • Templates
  • ebooks
  • Courses
  • Invitations
  • Coloring books
  • Planners
  • Homeschooling Kits
  • Small Business Kits

And you can sell them at places like:

  • Etsy
  • Amazon
  • Creative Market
  • Your website (if you have one)
  • Teachable (for your courses)

Investing

Yes, you do need money upfront for this one, but investing is something that can benefit you immensely once you start. I’m not a finance expert, but I enjoy reading from multiple people in the industry.

And while everyone seems to have different ideas about what is best to invest in, you should do your research and figure out what makes the most sense for you.

Some common places:

  • The stock market (from what I have read, the S & P 500 looks like the best to me, but it is up to you what you think is best based on your needs/wants)
  • Gold/Silver
  • Real Estate
  • Etc.

I had thought having your money in your bank was fine until I read about inflation and how my money is better spent “working for me,” as people say.

I think it’s best to invest only what you feel comfortable with, even if that’s a small amount to start! The power of compound interest surprised and delighted me! Again, do your research and see what would work best for you!

Passive income is a big topic nowadays, and with good reason! Enough people are doing fantastic at it for this to be seen as a tangible way to make money in a way you can enjoy!

What passive income idea excites you the most?!

Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, expert, or professional. This article, and all of the ideas presented in it, are for entertainment purposes only. They should not be taken as advice for your finances, investing, or saving. Please consult a financial expert if you want to take charge of your finances.

--

--

Blake Kohan
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Social Media Manager, Digital Media Boutique Owner, & Freelancer. I love self-improvement and reading <3